tutaski.blogg.se

Usb midi interface cable
Usb midi interface cable




usb midi interface cable

Sometimes the fancier devices have some extra features such as message transformations and filters, but these are unnecessary unless you already have a specific use for them, and those are easily done in software anyway. The price differential is probably due to name and build quality. In this case both of the indicated devices are specifically USB MIDI interfaces.įeaturewise, there's likely no difference between them. Your "MIDI-USB cable" is a MIDI interface: a computer-addressable device that accepts and sends MIDI messages through MIDI DIN jacks. As long as they can connect to your computer and drivers are available, an old interface will be just as good as a new one. If you decide that you need more ports in the future, look at used 4x4 and 8x8 interfaces.

usb midi interface cable

The process probably runs at a low MIDI bitrate and includes a lot of error correction codes.įor your intended use, the cable-style interface should be just fine. This is probably wise on Elektron's part - you don't want to add any risk to a firmware update procedure. Not at all - the update actually took hours. I thought that since the TM-1 is designed for high-speed sample-over-MIDI transfers, it would make for a quick update. I've only ever used the TM-1 to do a firmware update on my MachineDrum. I suspect that the AMT8 would be fine too, but I only plug that in when I need to work with a lot of MIDI devices at the same time, which is rare. My MOTU is my go-to interface for firmware updates, I've never had trouble with it.

usb midi interface cable

They probably all come out of the same factory in Shenzhen. Even my "EMU" branded X-MIDI failed, so don't think that a nice brand name on a cable-style interface will help. They generally fail when you try to do complex SYSEX tasks, like firmware updates. They generally transmit and receive MIDI notes, and can handle a bit of CC data too.

usb midi interface cable

I also have the Elektron TM-1 interface for my MachineDrum.įor typical MIDI music stuff, the cheap cable-style interfaces are perfectly fine. A few of my synths with USB interfaces function as USB-MIDI interfaces, but I rarely use them for that purpose. I have several of the cable-style MIDI interfaces, as well as an old eMagic AMT8 and a MOTU 828 MK2. As AJ Henderson and Warrior Bob mentioned, those cables are also MIDI interfaces.






Usb midi interface cable